Introduction

Introduction

Here are a few quick things about myself before I dive into why I am starting this blog. First, my name is Aubrey Andrews, I come from a small town in Idaho, and this past Fall, I moved across the country to start attending college at Southern Virginia University.  I love adventures, and so moving across the country seemed pretty enticing to me because living somewhere completely different than where I have lived for my whole life sounded like a good way to gain a few adventures.

One of the adventures that I have had since I moved is discovering that I have no idea where I want to take my career.  I started learning Latin last semester and throughout the course of that class I realized how much I love and appreciate the English language, and I began thinking about what I could do that would allow me to work with words.  My Latin professor once mentioned to me that if I had profound skills in grammar and spelling, I might be able to get a job as a newspaper editor one day.  When I was offered the opportunity to enroll in the Institute for Writing in Mass Media from New York Times bestselling author Jeff Benedict, I said to myself, “Why not?” and signed up.  One of my mentors from my senior year in high school told me not to be afraid to try new things in order to find what you are interested in pursuing.

I am interested in writing and have been since I was a little girl.  By taking this course, I hope to improve my skills as a writer and, hopefully, make connections that will be beneficial to me throughout my life.  Like anyone else, I hope to make a difference in the world, and I believe that I could have some power to do so through my words by writing about real issues that perhaps may not be visible to others.

Jeff Benedict has organized the aforementioned institute to expose students to people in the journalism business.  He has invited his friends and colleagues to come and present to the class.  Once a month, we have the opportunity to attend these workshops and make connections with people we might not otherwise have the chance to meet.  This blog is primarily an outlet for me to write about the workshops that I attend as part of the class.  I am here on a journey, and my ultimate goal is to find something I am passionate about. My belief is that writing is a step in the right direction to finding my passion.

Leave a Reply

